5. IF YOUR HOME IS DAMAGED BY FLOOD YOU MAY NOT
BE ELIGIBLE FOR ADDITIONAL LIVING EXPENSES (ALE).

Under most circumstances, if your home is
damaged by a covered peril and that damage
makes your home uninhabitable, you would most
likely qualify for ALE. ALE will pay for staying in

a hotel, motel or other temporary shelter.

However, since flood is typically excluded from
homeowners policies (i.e. not a covered peril), you
would not be eligible for ALE under your home-
owners policy if a flood causes your home to be
uninhabitable. Furthermore, flood insurance
through the NFIP does not provide any coverage
for loss of use or ALE.

6. SOME POLICIES HAVE A SEPARATE, HIGHER
DEDUCTIBLE FOR TROPICAL STORM AND HURRICANE
RELATED LOSSES.

A typical homeowners policy sold in Texas has
two types of deductibles: one that applies to losses
caused by windstorm and hail, and one that applies
to losses caused by all other covered perils.
However, some policies have a third deductible
that is specifically applicable to damage caused

during a hurricane.

A hurricane deductible can have a different name,
depending on the policy, such as: “hurricane
deductible,” “tropical cyclone deductible,” and
“named storm deductible.” This deductible applies
instead of the windstorm deductible when your

home is damaged by a hurricane or tropical storm.

IMPORTANT: A hurricane deductible is almost
always higher than your windstorm and hail
deductible. Depending on the policy, this amount can
range from 1% to 5% of your home's insured value.
That means if your home is insured for $150,000 and
you have a 5% hurricane deductible, you would be
responsible for $7500 of any hurricane loss. If the
damage to your home was less than the deductible, the
company may not be responsible for paying any of the

loss.

IMPORTANT CONTACT INFORMATION

Texas Windstorm Insurance Association (TWIA)

Phone: 1-800-788-8247 Website: www.twia.org

National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)
Phone: 1-888-356-6329 Website: www.floodsmart.gov

WANT MORE INFORMATION?

You can obtain other information and compare

homeowners policy coverages on the OPIC website.
Please visit us online at www.opic.state.tx.us. This
information is cutrrent as of March 2010. The laws and
rules regarding residential property insurance are sub-
ject to change. Please visit the OPIC website for fur-

ther updates.

What is the Office of Public Insurance Counsel?

The Office of Public Insurance Counsel (OPIC) is an
independent state agency representing the interests
of insurance consumers in Texas as a class on matters
involving rates, rules and policy forms affecting various
personal lines of insurance such as auto, homeowners,
title, and credit insurance, and in rulemaking for life,

accident, and health insurance.
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You are a homeowner on the Texas Coast. You purchased homeowners insurance with confidence that your home and its

contents would be protected in the event of a hurricane or tropical storm. When a storm hits you file a claim, only to find out

that you do not have coverage. How can this be? How could you have avoided this scenario?

Homeowners coverage can be a complicated
issue for most Texas residents and it can be
particularly complex if you live on the Texas

coast.

This brochure has been created to aid you in
navigating the confusing waters of homeowners
insurance and arm you with the knowledge to
make an informed decision regarding your

coverage.

SOME VERY IMPORTANT THINGS
YOU NEED TO KNOW BEFORE YOU
BUY HOMEOWNERS INSURANCE.

1. COVERAGE FOR WINDSTORM (INCLUDING COVER-
AGE FOR LOSSES DUE TO A HURRICANE) MAY BE
EXCLUDED FROM YOUR HOMEOWNERS POLICY.

Companies that write homeowners business in
the 14 counties along the Texas coast can
exclude coverage for windstorm, hurricane or
hail losses from your policy. These 14 coastal

counties are:

Aransas Refugio
Galveston Cameron
Matagorda Kenedy
Brazoria San Patricio
Nueces Chambers
Calhoun Kleberg

Jefferson Willacy

Companies writing homeowners business in certain
areas of Harris County located inside the city limits
and east of Highway 146 are also authorized to

exclude this coverage. They are:

LaPorte Motgan's Point

Pasadena Seabrook

Shore Acres
IMPORTANT: Not all companies exclude this
this coverage. Be sure to ask your agent whether or
not your homeowners policy covers damage from

windstorms.

2. THE TEXAS WINDSTORM INSURANCE ASSOCIATION
(TWIA) CAN PROVIDE WINDSTORM AND HAIL COVERAGE.

If you live in one of the 14 coastal counties or an
area of Harris county listed above and your home-
owners insurance company excludes coverage for
windstorms and hail, you may be able to purchase
windstorm and hail coverage through the Texas

Windstorm Insurance Association (TWIA).

Like any other insurance company, you must meet
the basic underwriting requirements to qualify for

insurance through TWIA.

3. FLOOD DAMAGE IS EXCLUDED FROM HOMEOWNERS
POLICIES.

Regardless of where you live in the state, home-

owners policies (including windstorm and hail

policies issued by TWIA) exclude damage caused
by flood. This is particularly important to coastal
homeowners because recent events have shown
that flood waters and storm surge from a hurri-
cane can cause as much or more damage than

hurricane force winds and related rain.

4. FLOOD COVERAGE IS AVAILABLE FROM THE
NATIONAL FLOOD INSURANCE PROGRAM (NFIP).

Recent events have shown that coastal
homeowners who did not purchase flood
insurance were left having to pay out of pocket
for damage caused by a hurricane’s storm surge
because the damage was not covered by their

basic homeowners or TWIA policies.

The good news is you can purchase insurance for
flood through the National Flood Insurance
Program (NFIP) from your insurance agent if you
live in a participating NFIP community. Ask your
agent if your community is among the more than

20,500 NFIP communities nationwide.

The NFIP flood policy provides flood insurance
for both dwellings (at a maximum of $250,000)

and contents (at a maximum of $100,000).

REMEMBER: There is usually a 30-day waiting

period before a flood policy becomes effective.



